Home / Government


The Borough of Hatfield has a Council/Mayor form of government. (In the early 1900’s, the Mayor was known as the “Burgess”.) There are five Council members who are elected “At Large” (they each represent the entire Borough, as opposed to “Ward” representation) to four-year terms. Each Council member also maintains a position on one or more of the seven Borough Council Committees. The powers of Council are broad and extensive, covering virtually every function of municipal government, including the creation of new legislation and the approval of the yearly budget. In addition to the five council members, the position of Mayor is also filled by election. In the event of a tie Council vote, it is the duty of the Mayor to cast the deciding vote. This is the only time that the Mayor may vote. In 1979, Borough Council appointed its first Borough Manager. It is the Borough Manager’s responsibility to direct the business operations of the borough. The manager works closely with all department heads to insure the health and welfare of the borough residents.

Borough Officials

John H. Weierman, President

A lifelong Borough resident, John Weierman has served on Borough Council since 1994.  John received his Bachelor of Science in Business from Wake Forest University and is currently employed in the commercial banking industry. He serves as Chairman of the Budget and Finance & Labor Committee.  He and his wife Cindy have 2 children, Craig & Katie.

Kenneth V. Farrall, Vice President

Ken Farrall has been a member of Borough Council since 1994 and currently serves as Chairman of the both the Planning, Building and Zoning Committee and the Utilities Committee.  He is also a member of the Budget, Finance & Labor Committee.  An engineer by profession, Ken also serves as Assistant Secretary of the North Penn Water Authority.  A Borough resident since 1990, Ken and his wife Diane have 2 children, Katelyn and Zachary.

Jason Ferguson

Larry Stevens

John Kroesser

John Kroesser a long time Borough resident, John owns and operates an automotive repair service.  He currently serves as a member of the Property and Equipment Committee, the Chairman of the Public Works Committee, and is a member of the Borough’s Planning Commission.  He and his wife Lorraine have 4 children, Michele, John, Adrienne, and Mackenzie.

Nancy DeFinis, Tax Collector

Nancy is a Lifetime borough resident who served on the zoning hearing board as a member and chairwoman, prior to being appointed tax collector.  Nancy has an associate degree in business management and her paralegal certificate.  Prior to becoming tax collector she worked at the Montgomery County Courthouse for many years in various departments and positions.  Married to Michael, they have 3 children, Candace, Michael, Alicia and 3 grandsons, Colton, Mikey and Leo.

Borough of Hatfield Mayor

Robert L. Kaler, III

A life long resident of the Borough, Bob has been active in civic affairs since early on.  He is a life member of both the Hatfield Volunteer Fire Company and the Hatfield Chamber of Commerce, along with being a member of the Hatfield History Society.  A graduate of the PA School of Banking and the American Institute of Banking, Bob is now retired from the banking industry.  He is also a U.S. Navy Veteran.  An active member of Grace Lutheran Church, Bob and his wife Linda have 5 children, Jennifer, Amy, Christine, Robert IV, and Paul.  They also have 13 grandchildren.